The Southeastern Conference is one of the most storied conferences across disciplines in the NCAA, and gymnastics is no exception. Founded in 1933, Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky and LSU have been members since the beginning. The conference first recognized gymnastics as a governed sport in the 1980-81 academic year, and just six short years later, the domination began. Georgia won the SEC its first gymnastics national championship in 1987. Since then, between Alabama, Georgia and Florida, nineteen national championships have come home with teams from the SEC. In 1991, Arkansas joined the SEC, and the school began fielding a gymnastics team in 2003. In 2012, Missouri joined the conference after leaving the Big 12, bringing the number of gymnastics teams in the conference to eight.

Official Website