Big 12

The Big 12 was established in 1994, with competition under the conference beginning in the 1996-97 school year. At that time, it consisted of eight teams, however two more teams were added to the conference in July of 2012. While there are currently ten full member schools in the Big 12, Denver is not one of them but rather one of 12 affiliate programs for gymnastics. Across all 23 sports that the conference sponsors, 58 teams have won national championships, including Oklahoma’s gymnastics team. The conference has always consisted of three to four schools in gymnastics, making it the one of the smallest conferences. Iowa State and Oklahoma have been a part of the conference from the beginning. Both Nebraska and Missouri were originally in the conference, before Nebraska left for the Big 10 after 2011 and Missouri for the SEC after 2012. Missouri was replaced by West Virginia joining the conference, and it only had three members until Denver joined after the 2015 season.

Official Website